This Ash

ashes-on-forehead-header-web

This ash, for which today has marked on my forehead

In this ash,

I see the gray shades of my past

In this ash,

I hear the vocabularies of beautiful aphorisms

In this ash,

I ask, what if I disappeared and gone with the wind?

I am the tiniest particle of this ash

which flying around Thy universe

Do Thou hear my voice calling up from this ash?

(Translated poem Ahu-Kadesan Ida ne’e from Tetum to English)

Ash Wednesday, Cathedral of Villa-Verde, Dili, March 1st, 2017

Leave a Reply

